Bullying at the University of Newcastle (Australia)

We are working to highlight and stop academic workplace bullying at the University of Newcastle, Australia. We are a group of staff and students who have been bullied for speaking out about misconduct.

Help make a difference –

*answer our survey,

*contribute to the blog, or

*contact us.

This will help us gather as much information as possible so that we can put an end to this bullying with its’ decades-long history.

“Systemic bullying, hazing and abuse generally are identified with poor, weak or toxic organizational cultures. Cultures that are toxic have stated ethical values that are espoused but not employed, and other non-ethical values which are operational, dominant, but unstated.

Such cultures thrive when good people are silent, silenced, or pushed out; when bad apples are vocal, retained, promoted, and empowered; and when the neutral majority remain silent in order to survive. Those who are most successful in such a toxic culture are those who have adapted to it, or adopted it as their own”. (McKay, Arnold, Fratzl & Thomas, 2008)

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Some more details on the Workplace Bullying Review

Safety at Work have voiced the following concern about the inquiry:-

"These terms seem reasonable but the biggest risk is that the workplace bullying focus is diluted by school bullying issues.  There is an assumption that school bullying behaviours are carried over to the workplace  and that workplace bullying could be reduced by increased attention at the school.  This assumption needs to be addressed early in the inquiry as the submissions to the inquiry and the media coverage could become severely skewed away from the original intention."

Here is the list of those politicians who will be hearing and reading submissions:-

Ms Amanda Rishworth MP (Chair)Australian Labor Party, Kingston, SA
Mr Rowan Ramsey MP (Deputy Chair)Liberal Party of Australia, Grey, SA
Mrs Karen Andrews MPLiberal Party of Australia, McPherson, QLD
Mrs Yvette D’Ath MPAustralian Labor Party, Petrie, QLD
Ms Deborah O’Neill MPAustralian Labor Party, Robertson, NSW
Mr Mike Symon MPAustralian Labor Party, Deakin, VIC
Mr Alan Tudge MPLiberal Party of Australia, Aston, VIC

Any enquiries should be directed to the House Standing Committee once the inquiry is formally established.  As of today (30th May 2012), the House Standing Committee has not yet been convened.

We have so many strong cases from the University - we can just let the facts speak for themselves.  Let's see how they want submissions.

No comments:

Post a Comment